top of page
  • carldurban

Student/Staff Exhibition. Anything you can do I can butcher.

A ‘Call Out’ was emailed out from Carl Rowe that even though I had quite a lot on my plate at the time I thought I really ought to find the time for this one.

The idea was donate a piece of art, something you are happy to be re-made, re-ordered or butchered completely. In return you were given someone else’s piece. All anonomously. After much deliberation I donated a painting that I had made following on from apainting workshop. I had documented it and I wasn’t going to do anything else with it. I felt it had to be a piece that was a little difficult to give up. It needed to hurt. (A little).



When all the original work was hung I received my piece, which was a latex head cast and what looked like a rubber/latex cast of no distinguishing shape, it however turned out to be a body cast by a current 3rd year student.

After much deliberation and iterations in my head I finally divided to attack my piece. I was thinking of casting it in concrete, cutting it half with a chainsaw, slicing it up into small pieces and mounting on stakes or small skewers but whatever I thought about doing it still related to the body. I also only had one shot at this... So I decide to try and fill the head cast with expanding foam, which I got carried away with, this wouldn’t set, so I dripped ink and paint over it and smeared it all together.

For the body cast I framed it but with the ragged edge hanging free, I then slashed it with a knife and poured a crimson paint over the back so it seeped out through the cuts and onto the floor.


This worked but maybe I should been even more drastic and used some offal from the butchers or had a collecting bucket and used more ‘blood..’ Next time.



16 views0 comments
bottom of page