top of page
  • carldurban

Project, paint, project on top, paint over. Repeat.

Updated: May 15, 2022

I signed up for this workshop as the idea of painting large and using projection as a reference interested me, not just about the process of enlarging an image to create a proportionally representation but more from the point of view of how the projected images can be distorted, overlapped and painted over. A previous workshop had left a large painting to project over and work with. I prepared a selection of images on acetate to project using an overhead projector, which I was quite keen to see enlarged on the wall and how I could interact with them. However, unfortunately the overhead was out of action, so we had to resort to found 35mm images and any digital files we had via the mini projectors.

I will obviously keep these images and try and find a working overhead projector at some point to see what sort of outcome they would produce. I am interested not only because they are images I have sourced and prepared but also it would be interesting to do it with just these images and not on something already created. This I could then compare to the piece that was a large collaboration work.


By using the images supplied and adding to an existing image it took a little while to start and to engage in the process but it soon got easier and although everyone tended to work individually there was some clear overlapping as the piece progressed. The idea of bodies working on the work and also becoming part of the work was an integral element of the process. Not only were we working next to each other but also sometimes blocking or obscuring certain projections. This wasn't an issue as there was already a lot of marks and paint on the piece and for much of the process I found myself reacting to what was already there, lines that could be followed, areas that could be developed and seeing opportunities to react to previous marks became part of the creating. In particular I enjoyed the idea of putting some bold colour on and defining areas in quite a bodily way. I then worked back into the colours using the reverse of the brush to not only connect pieces but also reveal the previous layers of the painting and colours. It felt as if I was peeling back the elements of the body to reveal the structure underneath.


There was a lot going on and in a very short amount of time things had really developed, it was a shame to stop when we did as it was developing and by taking it further it may have become more of a unified piece with each artist moving around the work rather than certain areas being developed in a certain way. There are defined areas worked on by individuals that overlapped but didn't become totally immersed with each other. A really interesting workshop and outcome with much to ponder.

I also took some images of the final piece at obscure angles to see how they may work and to keep them as references or possible start points for other work. so lots to take from the session, the process, the interaction, the possibilities, the chance element and further iteration possibilities.



Since this workshop things have been rather busy and time limited. However, I have actually purchased a small projector and am intending to take some of the images I originally used to create some further work. It is also an area that I could develop for some of the forthcoming workshops I have planned in the coming months, whether they be part of the many Outreach and Recruitment team's ones I have coming up in the summer or indeed as part of the collective, '2 Faulty', as we have booked the Cromer Artspace for a week in September with a view to delivering a few workshops and holding an exhibition of the finished work.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page